The 36 Doctors of the Catholic Church

The 36 Doctors of the Catholic Church

1 St. Albertus Magnus
2 St. Alphonsus Liguori
3 St. Ambrose
4 St. Anselm
5 St. Anthony of Lisbon and Padua
6 St. Athanasius
7 St. Augustine
8 St. Basil the Great
9 St. Bede the Venerable
10 St. Bernard of Clairvaux
11 St. Bonaventure
12 St. Catherine of Siena
13 St. Cyril of Alexandria
14 St. Cyril of Jerusalem
15 St. Ephrem
16 St. Francis de Sales
17 St. Gregory Nazianzus
18 St. Gregory of Narek [newest doctor]
19 St. Gregory the Great
20 St. Hilary of Poitiers
21 St. Hildegard of Bingen
22 St. Isidore of Seville
23 St. Jerome
24 St. John Chrysostom
25 St. John Damascene
26 St. John of Avila
27 St. John of the Cross
28 St. Lawrence of Brindisi
29 St. Leo the Great
30 St. Peter Canisius
31 St. Peter Chrysologus
32 St. Peter Damian
33 St. Robert Bellarmine
34 St. Teresa of Ávila
35 St. Therese of Lisieux
36 St. Thomas Aquinas

This entry was posted in theologian. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The 36 Doctors of the Catholic Church

  1. Philip says:

    Is it possible Joseph Ratzinger/ Benedict XVI will someday be added to that list? I’d like to think that his sheer volume of teaching alone would make Joseph Rating error a likely Doctor of her Church even if he’d never been elected pope

  2. Francisco says:

    Yes, I’m reading the book “Love and Responsibility” by Karol Wojtyla (this was before he was elected Pope JP2). Highly Recommended!

Comments are closed.