What is the Kingdom of the Ten Kings?

This kingdom was predicted in the Book of Daniel, chapter 7.
{7:3} And four great beasts, different from one another, ascended from the sea.
{7:4} The first was like a lioness and had the wings of an eagle. I watched as its wings were plucked off, and it was raised from the earth and stood on its feet like a man, and the heart of a man was given to it.
{7:5} And behold, another beast, like a bear, stood to one side, and there were three rows in its mouth and in its teeth, and they spoke to it in this way: “Arise, devour much flesh.”
{7:6} After this, I watched, and behold, another like a leopard, and it had wings like a bird, four upon it, and four heads were on the beast, and power was given to it.
{7:7} After this, I watched in the vision of the night, and behold, a fourth beast, terrible yet wondrous, and exceedingly strong; it had great iron teeth, eating yet crushing, and trampling down the remainder with his feet, but it was unlike the other beasts, which I had seen before it, and it had ten horns.

These four beasts represent four great kingdoms, each of which dominates the world during a different time period.

{7:17} “These four great beasts are four kingdoms, which will rise from the earth.

These four kingdoms rise up successively, as is clear from the nature of the fourth beast/kingdom:

{7:23} And thus he said, “The fourth beast will be the fourth kingdom on earth, which will be greater than all the kingdoms, and will devour the whole earth, and will trample and crush it.

The fourth beast “devours” (controls, occupies) the whole world. So the other three kingdoms are not of that time period. They are successive kingdoms. In my interpretation, the first kingdom is the kingdom of the great Catholic monarch, who reigns after the first part of the tribulation. The second kingdom is a subsequent kingdom based in Russia (the bear), which dominates the world, but does not control the whole world, sometime after the kingdom of the great Catholic monarch. The third kingdom is a subsequent kingdom based in four areas of the world, cooperating together; hence it has four heads (leaders). The first, second, and third kingdoms do not control the whole world. Only the fourth beast attains so much power that its kingdom consumes the world.

The fourth beast is the kingdom of the ten kings. This kingdom controls the world for about a century, until the Antichrist rises up within the kingdom, becomes one of the ten kings, defeats three other kings, thereby obtaining control of the world. The reign of the Antichrist then ensues, for about 7 years. Subsequently, Christ Returns.

{7:8} I considered the horns, and behold, another little horn rose out of the midst of them. And three of the first horns were rooted out by its presence. And behold, eyes like the eyes of a man were in this horn, and a mouth speaking unnatural things.
{7:9} I watched until thrones were set up, and the ancient of days sat down. His garment was radiant like snow, and the hair of his head like clean wool; his throne was flames of fire, its wheels had been set on fire.
{7:10} A river of fire rushed forth from his presence. Thousands upon thousands ministered to him, and ten thousand times hundreds of thousands attended before him. The trial began, and the books were opened.
{7:11} I watched because of the voice of the great words which that horn was speaking, and I saw that the beast had been destroyed, and its body was ruined and had been handed over to be burnt with fire.

More on this topic in my new booklet: The Kingdom of the Ten Kings. This booklet is taken from my book: The Second Part of the Tribulation. So if you have that book, you don’t need the booklet.

My best-selling booklets on eschatology this month:
The Future and the Popes
The Secrets of La Salette and the End Times
Notes on the Apocalypse: 2012

Ronald L. Conte Jr.
Roman Catholic moral theologian and
translator of the Catholic Public Domain Version of the Bible.

Gallery | This entry was posted in eschatology. Bookmark the permalink.